Skip to main content

To: All united in a shared hope for peace

Statement of Unity

Office of Toronto City Councillor Mike Layton

In light of recent hate crimes targeting Muslims, especially Muslim women, and threatening to create a rift in our communities, we stand united.

No one should be made to feel afraid because of who they are and what they believe. No one should be afraid to practice their faith, commute home, or pick up their children from school. People should never be persecuted. Islamophobic, xenophobic, and racist actions are unacceptable and we must name them as hate crimes in order to stop them and prevent them from spreading and taking hold. We must stand up and speak out against hate in our homes, our work places, our communities and amongst our friends.

Some in the world would like us to be afraid. They want to divide us. Make us fear each other. We will not let this happen. We will remain strong through unity and a shared hope for peace. We commit to love in the face of hate and hope in the face of fear. We stand together, united across our differences so that we remain strong and hold on to the fundamental rights and values that make our freedom possible.

Why is this important?

All members of Toronto City Council, Toronto District School Board Trustees, and Toronto Catholic District School Board Trustees have signed onto this statement and we are asking other politicians and residents to join in adding their name.

If you would like more information contact:
Toronto City Councillor Mike Layton [email protected] or (416) 392-4009.

Elected Officials:
Members of Toronto City Council
Mayor John Tory, City of Toronto
Paul Ainslie, Ward 43, Scarborough East
Maria Augimeri, Ward 9, York Centre
Ana Bailão, Ward 18, Davenport
Michelle Berardinetti, Ward 35, Scarborough Southwest
Jon Burnside, Ward 26, Don Valley West
John Campbell, Ward 4, Etobicoke Centre
Christin Carmichael Greb, Ward 16, Eglinton-Lawrence
Shelley Carroll, Ward 33, Don Valley East
Raymond Cho, Ward 42, Scarborough-Rouge River
Josh Colle, Ward 15, Eglinton-Lawrence
Gary Crawford, Ward 36, Scarborough Southwest
Joe Cressy, Ward 20, Trinity-Spadina
Vincent Crisanti, Ward 1, Etobicoke North
Janet Davis, Ward 31, Beaches-East York
Glenn De Baeremaeker, Ward 38, Scarborough Centre
Justin Di Ciano, Ward 5, Etobicoke Lakeshore
Frank Di Giorgio, Ward 12, York South-Weston
Sarah Doucette, Ward 13, Parkdale-High Park
John Filion, Ward 23, Willowdale
Paula Fletcher, Ward 30, Toronto-Danforth
Rob Ford, Ward 2, Etobicoke North
Mary Fragedakis, Ward 29, Toronto-Danforth
Mark Grimes, Ward 6, Etobicoke-Lakeshore
Stephen Holyday, Ward 3, Etobicoke Centre
Jim Karygiannis, Ward 39, Scarborough-Agincourt
Norm Kelly, Ward 40, Scarborough-Agincourt
Mike Layton, Ward 19, Trinity-Spadina
Chin Lee, Ward 41, Scarborough-Rouge River
Giorgio Mammoliti, Ward 7, York West
Josh Matlow, Ward 22, St. Paul's
Pam McConnell, Ward 28, Toronto Centre-Rosedale
Mary-Margaret McMahon, Ward 32, Beaches-East York
Joe Mihevc, Ward 21, St. Paul's
Denzil Minnan-Wong, Ward 34, Don Valley East
Ron Moeser, Ward 44, Scarborough East
Frances Nunziata, Ward 11, York South-Weston
Cesar Palacio, Ward 17, Davenport
James Pasternak, Ward 10, York Centre
Gord Perks, Ward 14, Parkdale-High Park
Anthony Perruzza, Ward 8, York West
Jaye Robinson, Ward 25, Don Valley West
David Shiner, Ward 24, Willowdale
Michael Thompson, Ward 37, Scarborough Centre
Kristyn Wong-Tam, Ward 27, Toronto Centre-Rosedale

Members of the Toronto District School Board
Chair Robin Pilkey, Toronto District School Board
Sammy Al Rubaie, Student Trustee
Jennifer Arp, Ward 8, Eglinton-Lawrence
Alexander Brown, Ward 12, Willowdale
Sheila Cary-Meagher, Ward 16, Beaches-East York
Jerry Chadwick, Ward 22, Scarborough-East
Hamima Fattah, Student Trustee
Michael Ford, Ward 1, Etobicoke North
Tiffany Ford, Ward 4, York West
Gerri Gershon, Ward 13, Don Valley West
Chris Glover, Ward 2, Etobicoke Centre
Pamela Gough, Ward 3, Etobicoke-Lakeshore
Parthi Kandaval, Ward 18, Scarborough Southwest
Howard Kaplan, Ward 5, York Centre
Shelley Laskin, Ward 11, St. Paul's
Ken Lister, Ward 17, Don Valley East
Ausma Malik, Ward 10, Trinity-Spadina
David Smith, Ward 19, Scarborough Centre
Marit Stiles, Ward 9, Davenport
Jennifer Story, Ward 15, Toronto-Danforth
Chris Tonks, Ward 6, York South-Weston
Sheila Ward, Ward 14, Toronto Centre-Rosedale
Manna Wong, Ward 20, Scarborough-Agincourt

Members of the Toronto Catholic District School Board
Chair Michael Del Grande, Toronto Catholic District School Board
Ann Andrachuk, Ward 2, Etobicoke
Patrizia Bottoni, Ward 4, North York
Nancy Crawford, Ward 12, Scarborough
Frank D'Amico, Ward 6, York
Jo-Ann Davis, Ward 9, Toronto
Karina Dubrovskaya, Student Trustee
Allison Gacad, Student Trustee
Angela Kennedy, Ward 11, East York/Toronto
Joseph Martino, Ward 1, Etobicoke
Sal Piccininni, Ward 3, North York
Barbara Poplawksi, Ward 10, Toronto
Maria Rizzo, Ward 5, North York
Gary Tanuan, Ward 8, Scarborough




2015-11-23 14:50:57 -0500

1,000 signatures reached

2015-11-20 21:13:18 -0500

500 signatures reached

2015-11-20 15:46:06 -0500

10 signatures reached